Student Story – Coenraad

By: Ester · 7 January 2020
Category: Student life, Wageningen & Surroundings

Every 2 weeks I ask a fellow student to tell me more about studying at Wageningen University & Research. How do they experience studying here? How do they spend their spare time? This time I talked to Coenraad, a bachelor’s student, who you might already know from the student tour at ood.wur.nl

Hi Coenraad, could you please introduce yourself?

“I am Coenraad van Zyl, 22 years old and from South Africa. I am currently doing the bachelor’s Animal Sciences. I started with Animal Sciences in South Africa, but halfway through my studies I decided to transfer to WUR, and consequently started in the second year.”

Why did you decide to transfer to WUR?

“During lectures at my previous university, quite a few research papers of WUR were used as references. I always knew it was a great university, but when I started doing some more research I realised that this is where I would like to study. I feel that there are more opportunities available and that the degree is seen in a higher light as many other universities.”

Why did you choose your programme?

“Since I was young I’ve always wanted to work with animals, but also have the opportunity to do research and focus on sustainable production.”

Which part of your study do you find the most interesting?

“I enjoy courses in Animal Production Systems (APS) and Adaptation Physiology (ADP). Most of the courses are quite interesting, because they cover a wide spectrum, but also go in-depth.”

And about housing, where do you live in Wageningen?

“I live in a private apartment with two other people. I lived in Haarweg (student accommodation) previously, but prefer living in an apartment.”

And besides your study? Is there enough to do in and around Wageningen?

“I think quite a lot effort is done to provide a good student life: whether it is just enjoying a beer or two at one of the pubs/cafes, or whether it is a rough night out at one of the student associations (especially at Nji-Sri 🙂 ).

In my spare time, I usually go out with friends, have dinners with friends, go to the gym. I also like to go to other cities, it is quite easy to get on a train or plane and go to another country.”

What do you think about the campus, and how is the atmosphere on campus?

“I think it’s a great campus with many options to do basically what you like. You can study in the library, have lunch with friends, enjoy the sun on the grass or go for a walk in the woods closeby. I enjoy that there is such a diverse atmosphere on campus. One could learn a few things from other cultures that you never would have known.”

In what way does living in the Netherlands differ from your home country?

“It’s quite different from South Africa because I feel that there is so much more freedom here and it is safe to do anything even on your own at night.

We have more sun, beaches and wine farms in South Africa (Stellenbosch), but there are other activities and advantages that make up for that.”

Thank you very much Coenraad! Do you have a question about studying in Wageningen? Leave your thoughts in the comments below. Or sign up for the updates to receive the next student experience.

Ester

Ester

I grew up on the Catalan Pyrenees, where my heart belongs. I am currently enrolled on the MSc Food Technology program at Wageningen.
I could describe myself as a sunrise person underneath the restless and ever moving mind. I love running in the mountains, surrounded by nature and its beauty. I am passionate about learning, cooking, traveling and collecting plants to make handmade jewelry.

I live everyday as a new exploring adventure, step by step.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *